Skip to main content

Systematic Review (SR) Service: STEP 2: Assembling the team

Collaborate with a MSK Reference Librarian to publish your Systematic Review.

Assembling the team

Systematic Reviews cannot be completed by a single person and should be done as a team effort.  Important areas of expertise to cover include:
(1) Content experts,
(2) SR methods experts (can also be a content expert or your assigned librarian),
(3) Statistician (if meta-analysis is to be considered),
(4) Medical Librarian (database searching requires specialized knowledge that general research training does not provide. The Librarian has experience with the extensive searching and documentation procedures that are a part of a systematic review and can support the team with bibliographic management tool instruction),
(5) Reference coordinator (responsible for maintaining and managing the database of references as well as tracking which abstracts have been reviewed and their disposition (e.g. included or excluded, reason for exclusion)).

Librarian’s support:

1. Provides expertise in developing the search strategy
2. Determines the most appropriate databases to use including grey literature
3. Supports and answers any questions related to bibliographic management tools

 NEXT: STEP 3: Crafting the search strategy


Selected references:
Chang S. Assembling a Systematic Review Team: Balancing Expertise and Potential Conflicts of Interest, Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality; 2011 [cited 2014 3/11/14]. 

* Dudden RF, Protzko SL. The systematic review team: contributions of the health sciences librarian. Med Ref Serv Q. 2011;30(3):301-15. 

* McGowan J, Sampson M. Systematic reviews need systematic searchers. Journal of the Medical Library Association : JMLA. 2005;93(1):74-80. 

* McGrath JM, Brown RE, Samra HA. Before You Search the Literature: How to Prepare and Get the Most Out of Citation Databases. Newborn and Infant Nursing Reviews. 2012;12(3):162-70.