Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Instructional Menu : Home

Current Offering

 

Check our calendar for our current offering or feel free to contact us to schedule a custom class time for you or your team.
 

Title
 
Instruction Time Description

Learning Objectives

EndNote for PC 45 to 60 minutes EndNote is a software that helps to manage your citations when writing a research paper
  • Learn how to add references to your EndNote Library 
  • Select styles to format references 
  • Organize your references in groups and send to colleagues
EndNote for  Mac 45 to 60 minutes EndNote is a software that helps to manage your citations when writing a research paper
  • Learn how to add references to your EndNote Library 
  • Select styles to format references 
  • Organize your references in groups and send to colleagues
Zotero   45 to 60 minutes Zotero is a free reference management tool (similar to RefWorks) downloadable on multiple workstations
  • Organize your references (articles and webpages)
  • Store your PDFs 
  • Create formatted bibliographies 
  • Collaborate with your colleagues 
Introduction to Systematic Reviews  60 to 75 minutes Getting started with a systematic review, but now sure where to start? In this 1-hour session, you’ll learn the basics of the systematic review process, plus key systematic review tools, resources, and guidelines
  • Understanding the defining characteristics of a systematic review and the steps of the systematic review process, including searching, screening, and quality appraisal. 
  • Understanding the protocol process and PRISMA reporting.
  • Identifying tools and resources for supporting the systematic review process 
Covidence  60 minutes Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews

To provide an overview of the key systematic review project steps supported by Covidence: 

  • Citation screening 
  • Full text review 
  • Risk of Bias assessment 
  • Extraction of study characteristics and outcomes 
  • Export of data and references 
PubMed   60 minutes Searching PubMed can be a daunting task, especially when it comes to researching complex topics. This workshop will help you gain the knowledge to effectively search PubMed utilizing keyword searches and the built-in filter options. Exporting citations to EndNote will also be covered. 
  • Perform basic keyword searches and locate references 
  • Access full text articles and filter results 
  • Create bibliographies and send results 
Evaluating Journal Quality   60 minutes Come to this workshop to find out about the library and information resources that can help you to more comprehensively evaluate a journal's "quality". A variety of criteria that should be considered when deciding on where to submit a research manuscript for publication will be discussed

To learn how to evaluate a journal by considering such criteria as: 

  • Indexing & abstracting services 
  • Journal metrics, publisher workflow stats 
  • Unique Identifiers (DOI, ORCID, etc) 
  • Other journal policies & requirements (protocol registration, reporting standards, etc) 
  • Peer-review status/system, credit 
  • Open-access vs traditional publishing models 
  • Copyright & permissions for re-use 
  • Digital archiving for posterity 
Updating Scientific CVs  60 minutes When you're updating a CV, it’s generally a good idea to search in more than one bibliographic database, especially if your goal is to capture all of an author’s publications, regardless of format (journal articles, book chapters, meeting abstracts, etc). This class will explore MSK Library resources that are good sources to consider using for compiling CV bibliographies

To provide an overview, author name search demo, and citation export demo in the following resources:  

  • PubMed  
  • Scopus  
  • Web of Science 
  • Synapse 
  • ORCID 
Measuring Research Impact   60 minutes What’s an h-index? How can I find out who has cited my study? What other research metrics should I pay attention to? In this class, we will use the databases Scopus and Web of Science to assess the impact of published research
  • Define measures of research impact, including h-index, journal impact factor, and altmetrics 
  • Use Web of Science and Scopus to find information about an author, their publications, and impact 
  • Determine how many times—and by whom—a study has been cited 
  • Learn about the value of ORCID ids and how to get one 
Using Library Resources Remotely 45 minutes Working from home? Trying to use library resources from off-site? In this 45-minute session, you’ll get a brief overview of library resources and learn how to access them from anywhere. 
  • Accessing library resources when you’re not at an MSKCC site 
  • Troubleshooting common access issues 
  • Using our Document Delivery Service to request publications we don’t have in our collection·    
  • Finding content for research 
Research Data Management: Best Practices 60 minutes

This class will provide an overview of broad concepts as well as specific actions one can take to adhere to data management standards and best practices. 

  • Introduce components of the Research Data Life Cycle and FAIR principles
  • Learn about best practices for:
    • File naming and organization
    • Version control
    • Format selection
    • Documentation/Description
    • Storage 
    • Backup 
    • Preservation