Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Full Text: ILLiad Document Delivery Services

FullText@MSK links from a journal citation to the full text of the article or the ILLiad Document Delivery Services request form. Fulltext@MSK will get you as close to the full text as it can, given the structure of the database vendor or publisher site.

What is ILLiad Document Delivery?

ILLiad Document Delivery is a service offered to MSK users which supplements the Library's specialized collections by obtaining articles, book chapters, and other research materials from outside sources in support of their clinical, research or administrative needs. Researchers can place requests for materials within the ILLiad software portal. The requested materials are then obtained by the Document Delivery team and delivered to users via their ILLiad accounts. Another term for this service is Interlibrary Loan (ILL hence the spelling of ILLiad), however, the needs of MSK users go beyond traditional ILL and our staff uses deep searching techniques that can reach beyond the collections of other libraries to document suppliers, databases, and collections not regularly available to the public. 

To contact the Document Delivery Team, email us at ill@mskcc.org or call us at 212.639.7441.

Login to ILLiad

You can access ILLiad Document Delivery from the Library Website. It's listed under Key Services right below the ONESEARCH Box.

Your login credentials for ILLiad are your MSK network username and your employee ID number.

Once you've clicked Login to ILLiad, you may be prompted to update or confirm your user profile details. This information will not be shared outside the library and is only used by our staff to contact you about your requests and for service usage statistics. 

Placing a Request

Requests may be placed for Articles, Books, Book Chapters, Conference Papers, Patents, Theses and Dissertations, Standards Documents, and other materials by making a selection from the New Requests dropdown on the menu of your ILLiad account. Please fill in as much information as possible to ensure speedy service.

Article request forms have a PubMed Lookup tool at the top. Filling in the PMID and clicking PubMed Lookup will automatically fill in the request with information from PubMed about the article. It is still necessary to scroll to the bottom of the request form to specify any notes, timeframe, and language information for the request. Once this is complete click Submit Request. 

 

Downloading your article

Once your requested materials are received by Document Delivery, they are uploaded in PDF form to your ILLiad account. Login and look under Electronically Received Articles. Click View to open your PDF in a new tab (depending on your browser settings).

Articles must be downloaded to your workspace within 30 days of that email. After 30 days, PDFs are removed from our servers to comply with copyright. 

Book Requests

Full print books may be requested by selecting Book from the New Requests dropdown on the ILLiad menu. Please include as much information regarding publication year, edition, and title as possible. Many books have very similar titles and we want our users to get the materials they need as quickly as possible.

Once a book request is located at a lending library, it must be sent in the mail to MSK. This takes time. We ask for your patience when requesting books loans. Books must be picked up in person (or by a designated party) at the MSK Library on the first floor of Rockefeller Research Labs, 430 East 67th Street. We cannot send them through Interoffice Mail. 

Most books are available for 2-4 weeks, however, due dates are subject to the lending library's rules and restrictions. We do not have control over how long books are loaned to us. Renewals may be available. Please let us know in the notes field of your request how long you need the requested book and we will do our best to accommodate that need. Any late fees applied by lending libraries will be the responsibility of the requester. 

Unfortunately, we are unable to borrow or loan full eBooks due to publisher restrictions. Chapters from electronic books may be requested by selecting Book Chapter from the New Requests dropdown. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Does my ILLiad account expire?

If it has been more than one year since your last login, you will be asked to confirm your contact information. Once this information is confirmed, your account will be renewed for another year.

Will I receive the publisher's PDF of my requested article?

Since we try to fill requests as quickly as possible, your article may come from a number of possible sources. It may be a scan from a print journal, a print-to-PDF from a website, or a publisher's PDF. There are several factors that are taken into consideration, including publisher restrictions and the time frame within which the article is needed. If you have a specific reason for requiring the publisher's PDF of your article, please contact the Document Delivery Team at 212.639.7441 or ill[at]mskcc.org or add your comments to the Notes field of the request. We will do our best to accommodate your request.

I work at one of MSK's Regional Facilities, can I use ILLiad?

All MSK employees can use ILLiad to request articles, scans, and other digital documents. However, book loans must be picked up at the MSK Library in the Rockefeller Research Laboratory building.  

What about copyright and Document Delivery?

The Library's policy is to respect the proprietary rights of the copyright owners. Library staff adhere to the copyright law when borrowing or copying material on behalf of our users. The following copyright notice appears on the Library's User Registration form:

COPYRIGHT NOTICE

The copy law of the U.S. (Title 17 U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship or research". If a user makes a request for, or later uses a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use", that user may be liable for copyright infringement. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgement, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. By using Electronic Document Delivery service you expressly agree to comply with Copyright Law.

Copyright also impacts the use of electronic resources. Databases, eJournals, and eBooks are subject to all terms and conditions of their license agreements and copyright provisions.

How long will my requested document be available for download?

Your document is available from your ILLiad account for 30 days before being deleted automatically from our servers. Please save files to your workspace.

How will I receive the document I requested?

When your document has been obtained, you will receive an email message notifying you that your document is available. You must login to your account to download your document. Please save the files to your workspace as they will only be available in your account for 30 days from the time the email is sent. If you requested a book, you will receive an email when it is ready for pick-up at the MSK Library. We cannot send Interlibrary Loan books through interoffice mail.

Can I edit or change my request after I have submitted it?

If you need to change your request after it has been placed, please contact the DDS team at 212.639.7441 or ill@mskcc.org.