Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Reliable Health Information on the Internet
American Cancer Society
Events and programs for participating in fundraising efforts, and supporting legislation on a local and national level. Also includes cancer statistics; information on cancer treatment, clinical trials and coping with cancer.
ExploreBMT™ is a great place to start when you are looking for information and support about blood and marrow transplantation. You can use ExploreBMT, an easy-to-search web portal, to browse resources and services from many respected organizations.
MSK Cancer and Treatment
Provides information regarding cancer and treatment.
MSK Clinical Trials
Provides information on clinical trials conducted at the Center as well as at other biomedical institutions.
MSK Patient Information
Provides information for current and new patients as well as caregivers.
National Cancer Institute
Considered an award winning site, this portal has information on cancer statistics, research and funding, clinical trials, and latest news. The Website also provides live help. Users have the option to talk on the phone or chat online with a NCI information specialist. The hotline is 1-800-4-CANCER (1-800-422-6237) or connect to LiveHelp to access online chat.
National Comprehensive Cancer Network
An alliance of the world’s leading cancer centers, which provides general cancer care information including treatment guidelines and clinical trials.
National Program of Cancer Registries (NPCR)
Data collected by state cancer registries which enables public health professionals to better understand and address the cancer burden.
Susan G Komen
Since 1982, Komen has played a critical role in every major advance in the fight against breast cancer – transforming how the world talks about and treats this disease and helping to turn millions of breast cancer patients into breast cancer survivors.
Patients, Families and Caregivers
CDC- Preventing Infections in Cancer Patients: Information for Patients and Caregivers
Cancer patients are more susceptible to getting an infection. Find out more on how to prevent, identify and seek medical assistance if needed.
Family Caregiver Alliance
Provides information, services and support for caregivers and families of persons with chronic, disabling health conditions. Includes fact sheets in English, Spanish and Chinese on various conditions like dementia, Parkinson Disease and stroke. As an advocacy group, this website also offers statistics, public policy information, and reports. Includes caregiver advice and tips (also in Spanish and Chinese) and hosts online discussion groups.
Professional Medical Research Organizations
Leukemia and Lymphoma Society
The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS) is the world's largest voluntary (nonprofit) health organization dedicated to funding blood cancer research and providing education and patient services.
Myelodysplastic Syndromes Foundation
The Myelodysplastic Syndromes Foundation was established by an international group of physicians and researchers to provide an ongoing exchange of information relating to MDS
NORD-National Organization for Rare Disorders
The National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD), a 501(c)(3) organization, is a unique federation of voluntary health organizations dedicated to helping people with rare "orphan" diseases and assisting the organizations that serve them. NORD is committed to the identification, treatment, and cure of rare disorders through programs of education, advocacy, research, and service.
Consumer and Public Health Websites
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC′s Mission is to collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) database provides information for patients about clinical research studies.
Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. Many drugs in other countries are covered, but not as thoroughly as U.S. drugs.
This Web site is operated by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), a national medical organization representing more than 105,900 family physicians, family practice residents and medical students. All of the information on this site has been written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the AAFP.
Comprehensive interactive Website on general health including information on drugs, diseases, research centers, etc.
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, this Website provides information on healthcare, drugs, alternative medicine, news, organizations, and government agencies.
Healthy.net is your 24-hour health resource center--a virtual health village where you can access information, products, and services to help create your wellness-based lifestyle.
Informed Health Online
The information on this website are based on the best evidence that was available at the time of publication. Every article provides the date of publication, as well as the evidence on which the information is based.
Site directs users to healthcare information and brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.
Merck Manual of Medical Information
Written in everyday language by 300 outstanding contributors. Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated; also provides information about prognosis.
National Diabetes Education Program
NDEP translates the latest science and spreads the word that diabetes is serious, common, and costly, yet controllable and, for type 2, preventable.
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
The Lifeline Network answers thousands of calls from people in emotional distress.
OpenMD.com is a search engine that makes high-quality medical information easily accessible to everyone. OpenMD searches billions of documents from government agencies, global health organizations, medical journals, and reference sites.
SPIRAL (Selected Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages)
SPIRAL is a joint initiative of the South Cove Community Health Center and Tufts University Health Sciences Library. The Website provides consumer health information in different Asian languages: Chinese, Cambodian/Khmer, Hmong, Korean, Laotian, Thai, and Vietnamese.
An introduction to toxic chemicals and environmental health risks you might encounter in everyday life, in everyday places.
World Health Organization (WHO)
General health information on diseases and statistics accessible in six different languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.