Skip to main content

NIH Public Access Policy: My NCBI: SciENcv

Information and guidance for complying with the NIH Public Access Policy.

What is SciENcv?

Science Experts Network Curriculum Vitae (SciENcv) is an optional tool designed to facilitate the creation of biosketches for NIH and NSF grant applications and annual progress reports. This application is part of My NCBI and supports the creation of online professional profiles that can be made private (default setting) or shared with others (public).  

Researchers can control the content of their profile and edit as required, include or hide selected citations, add non-NIH research awards, or create multiple profiles customized for each new grant application.  SciENcv links My Bibliography with the individual’s eRA Commons account so that the right information is accessible – researchers can pull together in one place their education and employment information, research activities, publications, honors, research grants, and other professional contributions.

There are three ways to create a SciENcv profile:
* From scratch
* From an existing source (eRA Commons, ORCID, NSF)
* From an existing profile

If you decided to use SciENcv, it is important to first link your NIH eRA Commons, NSF FastLane and/or ORCID account to your My NCBI as you will then be able to populate your SciENcv profile with the information available from these resources.

Biosketch key changes include: 
(View Sample Modified Biosketch at: http://grants.nih.gov/grants/funding/424/SF424R-R_pilot-biosketchsample_VerC.docx)

  • Emphasis on accomplishments/scientific contributions instead of just a list of publications
  • Extending the biosketch page limit to five pages (previously four pages)
  • Allowing researchers to describe up to five of their most important contributions to science
  • Allowing researchers to describe their discoveries and the specific role(s) they played in each and to annotate their description with a maximum of four publications
  • Allowing researchers to include a URL link to their complete list of publications

Steps to Setup My Bibliography

Before setting up a SciENcv account, you must already have created a My Bibliography account.  This will help you to comply with the new NIH biosketch requirements to include a URL link to a full list of your published works accessible in a “publicly available digital database” (such as My Bibliography).

  1. Log in to My NCBI using the NIH Login; enter your eRA Commons ID and password.
  2. Search for all of your publications in PubMed.  Use the “Send to” menu on the top right of the search results page to send the references to My Bibliography.
  3. Click on “My NCBI” in the upper right corner.  Look for the My Bibliography box.
  4. Click on “Manage My Bibliography.”  It should now be populated with all of your references.
  5. If you have authored additional publications that aren’t included in PubMed, you can manually add them to My Bibliography by clicking on “Add Citation” or leverage  your ORCID account to upload works.
  6. In My Bibliography, at the top of the page is a link with the option to make your bibliography “public.” Click this link to create and display your “public URL.”  This is the URL link that you can paste into your biosketch.
  7. Keep your My Bibliography account up-to-date by periodically adding citation information for your newly-published articles.

Training and Support Materials

Access and print the entire How-to-Instructions for Generating your NIH Biosketch using SciENcv.

Steps to Setup SciENcv

SciENcv  can help to facilitate the creation of biosketches for NIH and NSF grant applications and annual progress reports.  This tool links the researcher’s biographical information from eRA Commons with his/her PubMed references (My Bibliography).  All this data supports generating customized biosketches.

Note: Don’t forget that you should already have a My Bibliography account to proceed!

  1. Log into My NCBI using the NIH Login; enter your eRA Commons ID and password.
  2. Look for the SciENcv box (located towards the bottom right of the screen).  Click on "Click here to create a new CV."
  3. Create a new profile and select tab "From an external source" and click on "eRA Commons."

 Training and Support Materials

Access and print the entire How-to-Instructions for Generating your NIH Biosketch using SciENcv.

Steps to Setup SciENcv (via Delegate)

My NCBI users can grant access to their administrative assistants or others (delegates) to view and manage their SciENcv profiles. The delegates will then be able to create, modify or delete the information in the SciENcv account.

1. Sign in to your My NCBI account, click on your username on the NCBI header (top right corner of page) to access the Account Settings page.  The account owner needs to initiate the delegate invitation.
2. Go to the “Delegates” section and click “Add a Delegate” link.
3. Enter delegate’s email address; then click OK
4. Assigned delegate will receive an email with a URL that will bring individual to an access confirmation page.
5. Delegates must sign into their personal My NCBI account before replying to the confirmation email. (Register for a My NCBI account at: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/myncbi/)
6. Delegates click on the “Confirm Connection” button. Under “Collections” the delegate will see a link for the bibliography/SciENcv which they can access as well as their own bibliography (ies).

The Delegates section of the Account Settings page displays a list of all the delegates granted access to the Researchers’ My Bibliography collections or their SciENCV professional profiles.

Training and Support Materials

Access and print the entire How-to-Instructions for Generating your NIH Biosketch using SciENcv.

Additional Related Training and Support Materials

SF424 (R&R) Application and Electronic Submission Information (last revised: Apr 1, 2015)
http://grants.nih.gov/grants/funding/424/index.htm
* This page provides application guides and application attachment format pages for preparing electronic grant applications using the SF424 (R&R) application forms. Reference/Information about SciENcv can be found here as well as a link to download the Biosketch.

SciENcv — Converting Profiles that Use the Old NIH Biosketch Format to the New NIH Biosketch Format (2015 May–June No. 404)
https://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/mj15/mj15_sciencv6_3.html
* Instructions for users to help them convert biosketches from the former NIH biographical sketch to the new format.

NIH Biosketches FAQs (last revised: Jan 21, 2015)
 http://grants.nih.gov/grants/policy/faq_biosketches.htm 
* Visit this site for examples of the old and new formats.

 SciENcv and ORCID (last revised: Oct 16, 2014)
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/so14/so14_sciencv_orcid.html
* SciENcv users can create SciENcv profiles using the data stored in their ORCID records. By linking an ORCID account to an NCBI account, users will be able to create SciENcv profiles using the personal statement, education, employment, publications and research awards information stored in ORCID records.

 NSFFastLane
 https://www.fastlane.nsf.gov/jsp/homepage/proposals.jsp
* Interactive real-time system used to conduct NSF business.

Access and print the entire How-to-Instructions for Generating your NIH Biosketch using SciENcv.

ORCID Author Data Integration with SciENcv

SciENcv users can create SciENcv profiles using the data stored in their ORCID records. By linking an ORCID account to an NCBI account, users can create SciENcv profiles using the personal statement, education, employment, publications and research awards information stored in ORCID records.

It is important that you link your ORCID account to your My NCBI account in order to copy data from your ORCID record to your SciENcv.  Additional information can be found in the NLM Technical Bulletin 2014 Sep/Oct; No: 400.

SciENcv: Integrating with ORCID   (3.42 min) - This video focuses on features in SciENcv that help users connect profile and citation information stored in an ORCiD profile.

ORCID@MSK

Improving Researchers' Scholarly Workflow

ORCID is an open, non-profit, community driven organization that is striving to change the scholarly communication landscape by providing unique and persistent personal identifiers that connect researchers with their research works. This identifier is not anchored to the researcher's current place of employment but rather will travel with the researcher during the course of his/her career.

To learn more about ORCID@MSK, visit our informational page or ASK US!