Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Select cancer dedicated funding opportunities
AACR American Association for Cancer Research
The "grants support researchers, both domestically and abroad, at every stage of their career"
American Cancer Society
ACS funding has two main umbrellas: extramural grants and intramural research. Intramural includes Epidemiology, Surveillance Research, Health Services Research, International Tobacco Control Research, the Behavioral Research Center (BRC), and the Statistics and Evaluation Center (SEC). The Extramural Grants Department reviews and administers both Research Grants and Health Professional Training Grants (HPTGs).
American Institute for Cancer Research
Associated with the World Cancer Research Fund umbrella organization. Accepts "proposals for research addressing the effects of diet, nutrition, body composition and physical activity on cancer risk and outcomes".
Breast Cancer Research Foundation
Supports research in multiple areas concerned with breast cancer.
Cancer Research Foundation
Supports early-career cancer scientists and new directions in cancer science research.
Cancer Research Institute
Supports research in cancer immunotherapy.
Conquer Cancer Foundation
The Grants and Awards Program provides funding for qualified oncologists and young scientists in the United States and overseas.
Foundations That Support Cancer Research (NCI)
NCI Division of Extramural Activities lists Other Foundations That Support Cancer Research
Hirshberg Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer Research
Provides "research support to basic and clinical scientists and investigators in the United States and overseas".
Lung Cancer Research Foundation
Provides" funding for research focused on the prevention, diagnosis, treatment and cure of lung cancer. The goal of the program is to fund innovative projects across the spectrum of basic, translational, and clinical research.
National Foundation for Cancer Research
"Provides scientists in the lab the funding they need to make game-changing discoveries in cancer treatments, detection, prevention and ultimately, a cure."
Ovarian Cancer Research Alliance OCRA
"...OCRA is the largest charity funding ovarian cancer research in the United States." "OCRA grant programs support postdoctoral fellows, early career independent investigators, and teams of experienced investigators."
Prostate Cancer Foundation
PCF is a philanthropic organization that funds prostate cancer research globally.
Susan G. Komen
Committed to ending breast cancer forever by energizing science to find the cures and ensuring quality care for all people, everywhere.
World Cancer Research Fund International
World Cancer Research Fund International, a not-for-profit organization "that leads & unifies a network of cancer prevention charities with a global reach.... based in the USA, United Kingdom, Netherlands, and Hong Kong".focuses on "...cancer prevention research related to diet, weight and physical activity."
Private Funding Opportunities : Multi-Institutional
Authoritative, up-to-date information on private philanthropy. Additional links available from The Foundation Center include the Foundation Finder, a free lookup tool that provides basic facts on more than 70,000 private and community foundations in the U.S. Finding Funders search for a foundation's tax return (form 990 PF). Hint: Use the Foundation Center's Diagram of Form 990-PF to learn where some of the most important information can be found on a 990-PF.
Provides information on the programs and finances of more than 1.8 million IRS-recognized nonprofits. Registration encouraged but not required.
This citation management tool allows users to easily create, organize and search personal libraries of references, as well as annotate documents and cite while you write. Users have the ability to join the Mendeley community and connect with researchers globally and have the option of searching for research funding opportunities by simply creating their own account. This tool can be accessed from the desktop, a web browser, or via the mobile app.
Private Funding Opportunities : Single Institutional
Supports independent research on health care issues and making grants to improve health care practice and policy. Focus on society's most vulnerable, including low-income people, the uninsured, minority Americans, young children, and elderly adults.
Doris Duke Charitable Foundation - Medical Research
The mission of the Clinical Research program is to advance the translation of basic biomedical discoveries into applications that improve human health. The Medical Research Program does not fund research involving animals in accordance with Duke's will.
National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)
Provides "seed grants to academic scientists for translational or clinical studies related to development of potential new diagnostics or treatments for rare disease."
NYS Health Foundation
The New York State Health Foundation (NYSHealth) is a private, statewide foundation that aims to improve New York’s health care system by expanding health insurance coverage, containing health care costs, increasing access to high-quality services, and addressing public and community health.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
RWJF seeks to improve the health and health care of all Americans. In 2010, they awarded approximately $300 million in grants that fell within seven program areas: Childhood Obesity, Coverage, Human Capital, Pioneer, Public Health, Quality/Equality, and Vulnerable Populations.