MSK Library Guides: Artificial Intelligence: Datasets and Repositories

The Importance of Data

AI projects need data to train, test, and validate the systems being developed. Below are some sources for existing datasets, along with repositories where datasets can be saved and shared. (Note that some of the items listed under datasets may also serve as specialized data repositories.)

A resource's listing is not an endorsement of the quality of the data available. Always carefully appraise the information you are using to develop your AI tools.

Looking for information on the NIH Data Management and Sharing policy? Visit our guide.

Datasets

All of Us Research Hub
The Researcher Workbench is a cloud-based platform where registered researchers can access Registered and Controlled Tier data. This resource is from the National Institutes of Health.
Brainlife.io
A place to share and use others' shared brain imaging data, data processing tools, and computing resources.
Cancer GenomeAtlas Data Portal
A platform to search, download, and analyze data sets generated by TCGA.
The Cancer Imaging Archive (TCIA)
A service that de-identifies and hosts a large archive of medical images of cancer accessible for public download.
Cardiac Atlas Project (CAP)
"A worldwide consortium and online resource for integrating and sharing cardiac imaging examinations, together with parametric model-derived functional analyses and associated clinical information."
cBioPortal
Developed at MSK, this open-source software hosts data related to cancer genomics.
CDC Wonder
Features wide-ranging data for epidemiologic research.
Data.CMS.gov
Access to public data released by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).
Data.gov
A source for open data and datasets from the US government.
EpiQuery: NYC Interactive Health Data
EpiQuery provides data on NYC health from sources including surveys, surveillance data, and vital records.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) data
The World Health Organization's main health statistics repository.
Google Dataset Search
Searches thousands of online data repositories.
Initiative for Collaborative Computer Vision Benchmarking (I2CVB)
Open prostate cancer imaging data.
IPUMS
IPUMS offers national and international census and survey data.
Medical Imaging and Data Resource Center (MIDRC)
A multi-institutional collaborative initiative for collecting and sharing COVID-19 images and data.
Mitelman Database Chromosome Aberrations and Gene Fusions in Cancer
The information in the Mitelman Database of Chromosome Aberrations and Gene Fusions in Cancer relates cytogenetic changes and their genomic consequences, in particular gene fusions, to tumor characteristics, based either on individual cases or associations.
National Cancer Database
A nationwide oncology outcomes database for more than 1,500 Commission-accredited cancer programs in the United States.
National Cancer Institute Center for Biomedical Informatics & Information Technology
An NCI effort to enhance the data sharing and analysis infrastructure.
Nature Scientific Data - Recommended Data Repositories
A list of vetted data sources from Nature Scientific Data.
NITRC Image Repository
A searchable repository of neuroimaging datasets. Contact the team if you have a dataset meeting the tool's requirements that you would like added.
NYC Open Data
Free public data published by New York City agencies and other partners.
NYU Data Catalog
Includes datasets from NYU researchers and from publicly available sources.
OECD Health Statistics
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development offers downloadable statistics on health and healthcare quality and outcomes, including on cancer care.
OpenNeuro
"A free and open platform for validating and sharing BIDS-compliant MRI, PET, MEG, EEG, and iEEG data."
PubMed Central Open Access Subset
A collection of PMC articles with copyright permissions allowing them to be available for text mining.
re3data.org
A searchable database of more than 2,000 research data repositories, including 100+ relating to cancer.
Stanford AIMI Shared Datasets
A collection of de-identified annotated medical imaging data.
Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results
An authoritative source for United States cancer statistics.
UC Irvine Machine Learning Repository
A searchable interface of more than 460 datasets.
UN Data
A point of entry for multiple international statistical databases with downloadable records.

Data Repositories

Need more information on selecting a repository or on the NIH data management policy? Visit our NIH Data Management and Sharing Policy guide.

The Dataverse Project
This repository is open to all researchers uploading any file format. All contributed datasets are granted the CC0 Public Domain Dedication, unless researchers opt out.
Dryad
A nonprofit repository for data underlying the international scientific and medical literature.
Figshare
A repository for sharing data in any file format. Data can be made private or public.
Mendeley Data
"A free and secure cloud-based communal repository where you can store your data, ensuring it is easy to share, access and cite."
NIH Data Sharing Repositories
A list of NIH-supported data repositories. Most accept submissions of data from NIH-funded investigators (and others), but some restrict data submission to only those researchers involved in a specific research network.
Open Science Framework
A free and searchable platform from the Center for Open Science. Also offers preprint, study registry, conference proceeding, and institution-specific repositories.
Repository Finder
Repository Finder is a searchable directory of repositories.
Science Data Bank
A repository run by the Computer Network Information Center, Chinese Academy of Sciences.
Vivli
A global clinical research data sharing platform from the Center for Global Clinical Research Data. Search for and share clinical research data. Sharing and archiving data on the platform is fee-based.
Zenodo
A repository hosted by CERN that allows researchers from all fields to upload data in all formats for private use or public sharing.