Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases subscribed to by MSKCC
Derwent Innovations Index (1994-present)
Combines unique value-added patent information indexed from over 50 patent issuing authorities in the Derwent World Patent Index (1963-present) with patent citations indexed from the Derwent Patents Citation Index (1973-present).
Search across clearly written patent titles and abstracts that highlight the novelty, use, advantage, and claims of each invention.
Chemical Section (1994-present)
Electrical and Electronic Section (1994-present)
Engineering Section (1994-present)
Scopus is an Elsevier database that is updated daily and contains scientific, technical and medical literature, including patents.There are over 39 million patent records derived from five patent offices available on Scopus:
1. World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
2. European Patent Office (EPO)
3. US Patent Office (USPTO)
4. Japanese Patent Office ( JPO)
5. UK Intellectual Property Office (IPO.GOV.UK)
Websites for Patents
Canadian Intellectual Property Office
This database lets you access over 75 years of patent descriptions and images. You can search, retrieve, and study more than 1,500,000 patent documents.
European Patent Office
This site allows you to search for European patents, view publications, use the toolbox for applicants, and provides information on seminars.
Free Patents Online
Free Patents Online allows advanced search techniques such as word stemming, proximity searching, relevancy ranking and search term weighting to help you find the patent(s) you are looking for.
Google Patents covers the entire collection of issued patents and millions of patent application made available by the USPTO, from patents issued in the 1790s through the present.
Japan Platform for Patent Information
Site accessible by the general public to retrieve basic information that is required under the Patent law to be disclosed in compliance with the principle of the industrial property rights system. This resource contains 100+ million documents of patents, utility models, designs and trademarks and their relevant information that have been published since the end of the 19th century. Basic information in gazettes can also be retrieved and used in English, with the objectives of reinforcing the protection of rights overseas and as an international contribution.
PatentLens is a worldwide, open-access, free full-text patent informatics resource with features including DNA and protein sequence searching, and search interfaces in Chinese, Russian, and French, as well as English.
At Patents.com you can do a Patent Search, File a Patent Application, find a Patent Attorney, or search available technology through Patent Exchange.
SumoBrain features full-text cross-collection searching of US & EP patents and applications, PCT documents, and Japanese abstracts.
UK Patent Office
This site provides information on searching and applying for patents, trademarks, and copyright in the United Kingdom.
US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
Office established in order to protect inventors by securing exclusive rights to their discoveries for a period of time. USPTO site allows you to search issued patents and applications, file for a patent or trademark, and print forms and publications.
WIPO GOLD is a free public resource which provides a one-stop gateway to WIPO’s global collections of searchable IP data. It aims to facilitate universal access to IP information.
Search over 8 million patent documents, including international patent applications.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
Visitors to this site can access the International Property Digital Library, a database which includes a collection of over 1,000,000 international patent applications and contains the full text of the patent applications or the patents.
Disclaimer: You can create an RSS feed in WIPO PatentScope, which is not necessarily as up to date as the USPTO web site. However, the USPTO web site does not offer an RSS feed option to view the latest patents.
To create a feed for all MSKCC patents search by entering "sloan kettering" in WIPO PatientScope search box.