Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Chemical Society ACS
News section offers new press releases and other news.
Published by ChemPubSoc Europe. News Section of the Magazine offers searchable daily updates about the latest research or the chemical industry.
ACS meetings & events
American Chemical Society upcoming meetings.
Published by ChemPubSoc Europe. Events section offers select upcoming conferences at major Chemistry societies worldwide.
Websites for Chemistry and Environmental Toxicology
Free databases and other resources for Environmental Toxicology
EPA Science Inventory
This resource is a searchable, agency-wide database of more than 4,000 scientific and technical work products. Database records provide information concerning science activities and scientific and technical work products to include risk assessments, technical studies and guidance, and research.
Easy and intuitive access to data from TOXLINE, the EPA’s Toxics Release Inventory, the Hazardous Substances Data Bank, and the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry. GIS mapping of chemical releases by facility.
Search multiple NCBI databases simultaneously for most commercially significant compounds. Databases include the Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Hazardous Substances Data Bank, Integrated Risk Information Management, Toxline, Toxic Release Inventory, and ChemIDplus. Serves as a portal to NLM databases such as the Household Products Database, MEDLINE, and Haz-Map.
An introduction to toxic chemicals and environmental health risks you might encounter in everyday life, in everyday places.
Free name / structure / properties (and / or textual documents) databases for Chemistry
Cambridge Structural Database (CSD)
A repository for small-molecule crystal structures.
CAS Standard Abbreviations & Achronims
Lists automatically generated abbreviations and acronyms in CAS publications and services.
Chemical Entities of Biological Interest
Roughly 5000 chemicals are linked to their biological effects as described in databases such as IntEnz (Integrated Relational Enzyme database of the EBI); KEGG (Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes); the NIST Chemistry WebBook; and ChemIDplus. Search by chemical name, CAS Registry Number, or formula.
ChemIDplus - Advanced
ChemIDplus searches over 360,000 authority file records used for chemical substances in National Library of Medicine databases. Search over 200,000 substances by structure and substructure (plugin required), chemical properties, toxicity, and locator codes. Use ChemIDplus Lite to search by name or CAS Registry Number.
ChemIDplus - Lite
Synonyms for over 350,000 chemicals. ChemIDplus helps synchronize chemical names in several NIH, NCI and EPA databases. Search by name or CAS Registry Number.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
High quality collection of physical properties for over 7,000 organic and small inorganic compounds with references to the original literature. Thermochemistry for over 8000 reactions. Over 16,000 IR spectra, 15,000 mass spectra, and 1,600 UV/Vis spectra. Search by formula, name, CAS Registry Number, structure, and some physical properties.
NIST Scientific and Technical Databases
Portal to all databases available from NIST, many of which are free. Locate databases via an alphabetical list, a list with descriptions, categories, or by a keyword, property, or substance search. Links to other NIST resources include chemical kinetics, CODATA Fundamental Physical Constants, the Atomic Spectra Database, the IUPAC-NIST Solubility Database, and the Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data.
Search by Collective Volume or individual volumes. Keyword search by author, chemical name, CAS Registry Number, index term, volume, and page. Structure and substructure searching requires ChemDraw plugin. Browse by reaction type. Kudos to Organic Syntheses, CambridgeSoft, DataTrace, and John Wiley for this free resource.
PubChem, launched in 2004, is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. It collects information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
"ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources."
Database for the search and retrieval of organic, inorganic and organometallic chemical information by reaction, structure, property data and text.
Resources for Medicinal Chemistry
Merck Index Online
Authoritative source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Available online from the Royal Society of Chemistry