MSK IACUC Resource Guide: eBooks

Cellular and Animal Models in Human Genomics Research provides an indispensable resource for applying comparative genomics in the annotation of disease-gene associated variants that are identified by human genomic sequencing. The book presents a thorough overview of effective protocols for the use of cellular and animal modeling methods to turn lists of plausible genes into causative biomarkers. With chapters written by international experts, the book first addresses the fundamental aspects of using cellular and animal models in genetic and genomic studies, including in-depth examples of specific models and their utility, i.e., yeast, worms, flies, fish, mice and large animals. Protocols for properly conducting model studies, genomic technology, modeling candidate genes vs. genetic variants, integrative modeling, utilizing induced pluripotent stem cells, and employing CRISPR-Cas9 are also discussed in-depth. Provides a thorough, accessible resource that helps researchers and students employ cellular and animal models in their own genetic and genomic studies Offers guidance on how to effectively interpret the results and significance of genetic and genomic model studies for human health Features chapters from international experts in the use of specific cellular and animal models, including yeast, worms, flies, fish, mice, and large animals, among other organisms

This book comprehensively reviews the anatomy, physiology, genetics and pathology of laboratory animals as well as the principles and practices of using laboratory animals for biomedical research.

This reference book compiles together different animal models in cancer research. It provides knowledge and a better understanding of the advancement of the molecular and cellular mechanisms associated with the progression, formation, and clinical results of various types of cancer from the evidence collected from animal models utilized for cancer research. It discusses animal models for screening anti-cancer drugs and exploration of gene therapy. It presents different methods used to construct cancer animal models and the progress of each animal model in tumor research. The book also highlights the applications of genetic engineering, including CRISP/Cas9, in designing and developing animal models for cancer research. Further, it discusses strategies for modeling animals for investigating growth, metastasis, tumor-associated inflammation and microenvironment, cancer stem cells, tumor heterogeneity, and therapeutic resistance. This book is s a valuable resource for basic and translational cancer researchers, clinicians, and health care

Laboratory Animal Anaesthesia and Analgesia, Fifth Edition provides a basic guide to anesthesia for a very diverse audience involved in animal testing. This has been the go-to resource for current, clear and evidence-based information for over 30 years. The book is divided into four parts that deal with preparation for anesthesia, including definitions, equipment, preparations, anesthetic and analgesic agents, the management and monitoring of anesthesia, including pre-procedural preparations, monitoring and problems and emergencies through the procedure, advanced and specialized techniques, and analgesia and post-operative care, including recovery and the prevention and management of post-operative pain. Final sections cover anesthesia in common laboratory species, specifically: rodents, rabbits, cats, dogs, ferrets, pigs, sheep and goats, primates, reptiles, amphibians and new specific chapters on birds, fish and cephalopods. This edition keeps up with the tradition of bringing a balanced dose of practical advice, foundational content, and current, updated references, drugs and procedures to veterinarians, technicians, researchers and ethics committee personnel. Includes an updated list of agents and current anesthetic procedures Expanded to cover fish, birds, and cephalopods Provides a new and comprehensive formulary table covering anesthetics and analgesics for all species presented

The Zebrafish in Biomedical Research: Biology, Husbandry, Diseases, and Research Applications is a comprehensive work that fulfills a critical need for a thorough compilation of information on this species. The text provides significant updates for working vivarium professionals maintaining zebrafish colonies, veterinarians responsible for their care and well-being, zoologists and ethologists studying the species, and investigators using the species to gain critical insights into human physiology and disease. As the zebrafish has become an important model organism for the study of vertebrate development and disease, organ function, behavior, toxicology, cancer, and drug discovery, this book presents an important resource for future research. Presents a complete view of the zebrafish, covering their biology, husbandry, diseases and research applications Includes the work of world-renowned authors Provides the first authoritative and comprehensive treatment of zebrafish in biomedical research as part of the ACLAM series