Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Keep in Mind...
All sources listed on this page should be thoroughly consulted and evaluated before using any images. For more information, see the Copyright tab of this LibGuide.
Databases with Image Search Engines
American Society of Hematology Image Bank
An extensive online library of screen-sized blood disease images and cases for educational use. You can also upload an image to be added to the database.
American Society for Microbiology (ASM): Image Gallery
A peer-reviewed digital media center for microbiology educators. Material is intended for an undergraduate audience, but the images may be applicable to wider audiences. The collection is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0) license.
BloodLine Image Atlas
Features more than 800 hematological slides depicting various blood disorders and malignancies. You can search by category of keyword.
This database provides medical images and pictures of the entire human body. The interactive program allows the user to scroll through radiological images from various planes, adding or limiting the types of structures labeled.
Health on the Net Foundation - HONmedia
Contains over 6,800 medical images and videos pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes.
You can search JSTOR for images through the "advanced search" feature and choosing "caption" from the drop-down menu when you enter your search terms. This searches only article image captions, resulting in retrieval of images only.
Slides are classified according to its topography, diagnosis, stain, etc. Additional information is supplied in terms of a short description and clinical data if available.
Using the "Advanced Search" option, click on the "Images" tab to search scientific disciplines for images.
The TRIP Database is a clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions. Images of search queries are displayed to the left of the results list.
University of Utah: Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
HEAL, housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library, contains over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. Specific collections in HEAL include neuroscience, hematology, histology, and dermatology, among other subjects.
Point-of-care visual diagnostic decision support system that includes medical images and illustrations. Focus is dermatology for all age groups and skin types, ophthalmology, pulmonary infections, oral pathology, and public health concerns.