Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Keep in Mind...
All sources listed on this page should be thoroughly consulted and evaluated before using any images. For more information, see the Copyright tab of this LibGuide.
Image sources brought to you by federal agencies
Image courtesy of © 2011 McIntosh & Associates, LLC
A.D.A.M. Medical Images
One of the largest libraries of medical illustrations with nearly 30,000 detailed and medically accurate images ready for immediate download.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) - Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures.
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)
Illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine, the IHM contains portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media.
Medline Plus - A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. (Animated Dissection of Anatomy for Medicine) Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
A database of medical images from a number of different specialties including radiology, pathology, and ophthalmology. There are over 53,000 images from 13,000 cases in the collection, and images can be searched by disease category, disease location, and patient profile.
Multimedia Gallery - National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)
Peruse sophisticated imaging techniques that support the advancement of technology and better patient care.
National Cancer Institute (NCI) Visuals Online
Contains images including general biomedical and science-related images, cancer-specific scientific and patient care-related images, and portraits of directors and staff of the National Cancer Institute
. All images are in the public domain and may be used, linked, or reproduced without permission. If an image is used, credit should be given to the listed source and/or author.
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) - Image Gallery
This is a searchable database of photos, illustrations and videos. Permission is granted to use these images for educational, news media or research purposes, provided the source for each image is credited.
National Institutes of Health (NIH) Image Gallery
The NIH Image Bank contains images from the collections of the 27 Institutes and Centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health.
Choose between several image galleries depending on the type of image desired. Science.gov exposes image collections ranging from the USDA Plant Image Gallery to the NASA Image Exchange database.