Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Keep in Mind...
All sources listed on this page should be thoroughly consulted and evaluated before using any images. For more information, see the Copyright tab of this LibGuide.
Other Image Sources
Browse trending images or search for images using the Bing search engine. Use the IMAGE MATCH feature to find pages where the image appears from around the web.
The British Library Images Online
Over 1 million images to be used, remixed, and adapted. Most images are labelled, “no known copyright restrictions.”
Created by Yahoo, Flickr Commons is a database of images uploaded by anyone from anywhere. It is a good source for locating free images and contributing images of your own to the corpus.
Flickr: Specimens (Pathology)
Contains over 930 images, all licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license.
Use this search engine to find creative commons images on Flickr.
You may use these images for your personal use or your non-profit organization if you note the source: © Copyright 2014 [name of photographer], FreeLargePhotos.com. If you use them on a web site, link to this site.
The first company to license imagery online, Getty Images allows you to effectively search, license and download stock images.
Google Images is an image search engine developed by Google. This engine searches the file names of visuals on the web.
Metropolitan Museum of Art - Online Collection
Users will find the OASC icon below images that are part of the OASC (Open Access for Scholarly Content) initiative. Download or save the image by clicking on the Download Icon.
No fee reference images. Yes, they're all at no cost. Whether you're an illustrator, art director, instructor or looking to add a defining visual to a presentation.
NYPL Digital Gallery: Pictures of Science
Contains scientific images from the early thirteenth century including images in chemistry and medicine. Compiled from exhibits and collections at the New York Public Library.
Offers thousands of royalty free photos for personal use.
All photos are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. This means you can use them for free for any personal and commercial purpose. Attribution is not required.
A repository for stunning public domain pictures. A source for no-fee vectors, drawings and photos. You can use any Pixabay images without attribution in digital and printed form, even for commercial applications.
Public Domain Images
Browse images by topic or search for specific graphics.
Public Domain Photos
Browse images by topic or search for specific graphics. Over 5,000 images in database.
Public Domain Pictures
A repository of public domain images.
Science Photo Library
Science Photo Library (SPL) has more than 350,000 images and 20,000 clips to choose from, with hundreds of new submissions uploaded to the website each week.
All photos uploaded to the site are released under Creative Commons - CC0 and do not require attribution.
All photos published are licensed under Creative Commons Zero which means you can copy, modify, distribute and use the photos for free, including commercial purposes, without asking permission from or providing attribution to the photographer or Unsplash.
Wellcome Images - Wellcome Collection
Wellcome Images is a collection of images, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science. Images are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use, under one of two Creative Commons licenses
. For new photography and larger electronic files, please see the price list
. Prices exclude tax and postage.
This is a social contribution resource with categories of media ranging from biomedical science to nature graphics.
A repository of over 35,000 free, high-quality, public domain images.
An image search engine developed by Yahoo. Searches file names of visuals on the web.