Skip to main content

Open Access: Info for MSK Authors

Terminology: Green vs. Gold. Gratis vs. Libre

Green/Gold pertains to venues.  

Gratis/Libre  pertains to use rights or freedoms. 

Gratis is online and free to read, but has use restrictions.

Libre is online and free to read, and free of permission barriers for use.

Gold Open Access

  • Publication through publishers (e.g. journal publishing)
  • It is the publisher's repsonsibility to make the manuscript Open.
  • Gold publications may or may not carry author-side fees.
  • Gold may be gratis or libre. 
  • Gold OA publishing is likely to come from funder mandates.

Green Open Access

  • The author provides Open Access by self-archiving, often of material published in a conventional journal, for which the author has retained these rights.
  • Self-archiving is achieved by depositing scholarly works into a repository.
  • Publishers often place restrictions on what an author may archive, such as only permitting self-archiving of the preprint, not final PDF known as the postprint.

Self-Archiving Overview

Predatory Journals

Authors Beware of Predatory Online Publishers

Predatory journals are from unscrupulous Open Access publishers who exploit the author-pay model by soliciting submissions from as many scholarly authors as possible in order to collect a high volume of article processing fees.

We recommend our Authors works with a publisher:

  •  who is a member of Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA)
  •  or adheres to OASPA's code of conduct

Stop Predatory Journals is a site built by an independent group which wishes to remain anonymous. The list of journals they share can provide you with insight; however, if you still question the journal quality or the intent of the publisher, please contact us

NIH Public Access Policy

The National Institute of Health (NIH) requires that all researchers funded by the NIH submit to the National Library of Medicine’s PubMed Central an electronic version of their final, peer-reviewed manuscripts upon acceptance for publication, to be made publicly available no later than 12 months after the official date of publication.

View the MSK Library's NIH Public Access Policy LibGuide providing information and guidance for policy compliance.

MSK Paid Membership Subscriptions

The Library currently supports the following institutional memberships with open access publishers.

  • AAAS - Article Processing Charges. Individual AAAS members are eligible for a 4% discount by submitting their membership number.  A 15% affiliation discount may also be applied by selecting Memorial Sloan Kettering from the drop down menu at the time of submission 
  • Biomed Central, MSK authors receive a 15% page charge discount for papers published in BMC journals. The Library is a Supporter Member.
  • Nucleic Acids Research, MSK authors are eligible for discounted page charges of $1,385. The Open Access charges will be applied to articles of up to nine published pages in length. Each page above nine incurs an additional charge of $195 per page. Colour figures are not subject to an additional charge, although the use of color is subject to the Editor's discretion.
  • MSK authors should be aware of Public Library of Science (PLoS) publication fees  and their online invoice. As of January 2014, PLoS no longer offers a 10% page charge discount for papers published in their journals.  PLoS has developed two new account options; however the MSK Library does not participate in either one. MSK authors can contact Donna Gibson, should they wish to discuss PLoS changes.
    • Direct Billing - Institutions (Library) are billed monthly by PLOS for accepted manuscripts authored by corresponding authors of their institutions.  
    • Deposit Account - Ability to set up an account to process charges over the course of the fiscal year.
  • SpringerOpen, MSK authors are eligible to receive a 15% discount on the article-processing charge. 

Open Access Repositories

The following are a few Open Access/Public Access repositories.  If you would like to see one added to this list, please contact the LibGuide author.

  • Minority Health Archive - From the Center for Minority Health at the University of Pittsburgh.
  • OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories where you can search by Subject Area.
  • PMC (PubMed Central) - PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
  • PubMed Central Canada - Provides free access to a permanent online digital archive of full-text, peer-reviewed health and life sciences research publications. It builds on PMC, the archive developed by NIH/NLM.
  • UK PubMed Central - Offers free access to biomedical literature resources including PMC, Patent abstracts and more.
  • Scientific Open Access Repository (ScOAR) - Provides free, publicly available Open Access-only abstracting/indexing services covering peer-reviewed scientific research journals.

For Help, Contact:

Donna Gibson's picture
Donna Gibson

Contact:
Reference: 212-639-7439
Donna: 212-639-2109
Donna (Blackberry): 646-229-7383
Website