CHORUS - Advancing Public Access to Research.
DORA (Declaration on Research Assessment) - Improving how research is accessed.
FOOA: Fair Open Access Alliance - This organization is comprised of a group of scholars and librarians aiming to help transform the conventions of scholarly publishing, and return control of the publication process to the scholarly community.
Open Access Week - A global event scheduled each year in October promoting Open Access as a new norm in scholarship and research.
Plan S - Supported by cOAlition S, an international consortium of research funders. This plan requires that, from 2021, scientific publications that result from research funded by public grants must be published in compliant Open Access journals or platforms. In addition, cOAlition S has provided information about price transparency requirements.
Science Commons - An effort to share scientific research and technology through Open publishing.
OA Switchboard - This initiative is a "not-for-profit collaboration between funders, institutions and publishers to provide essential infrastructure, standards and back office services to facilitate the fulfilment of open access strategies across business models, policies and agreements."
COAR - Confederation of Open Access repositories.
Creative Commons - Provides free licenses that enable authors to control copyright. FAQ about CC.
OASIS - Open standards. Open source.
OASPA - Community of Open Access journal publishers whose members adhere to a Professional Code of Conduct.
Open Access Directory - Listing numerous OA resources and terms, composed by Simmons College.
Peter Suber - A leading voice in the Open Access movement.
Sherpa/Juliet - Grant funders' publishing requirements for authors who've received grant awards.
Sherpa/Romeo - Database of publishers' policies, in particular for self-archiving.
SPARC - Provides a free author addendum to enable authors to modify copyright.
SPARC, Coalition of Open Access Policy Institutions (COAPI) - Brings together representatives from North American universities with established faculty open access policies and those in the process of developing such policies.
The following are a few Open Access/Public Access repositories. If you would like to see one added to this list, please contact the LibGuide author.
Dryad - General-purpose repository that makes scholarly research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable.
Minority Health and Health Equity Archive - Online repository of materials related to minority health and health equity.
PMC (PubMed Central) - PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Europe PMC - Offers free access to biomedical literature resources including PMC, patent abstracts and more.
Kopernio for libraries - Browser plugin that can bring legal open access content into your workflows.
Open Access Button - Search for full text legal research articles or automatically request from authors.
ScienceOpen - Search for full text articles.
Unpaywall - Find full text content from legal sources including repositories run by universities, governments, and scholarly societies, as well as open content hosted by publishers themselves.