Responsible Authorship: Conflict of Interest (COI): Publishers

The publishers below have been organized in alphabetical order.  Based on an analysis of MSK publications for the last five years (2014-2018) and a list of our core grant (P30 CA008748) journal titles, these are the publishers that the MSK author community most frequently submit their journal manuscripts to. We have provided links to the publishers' editorial policies or COI related content where available. In addition, this list will be reviewed each year and updated accordingly.

Should you like to suggest a publisher for inclusion, please contact Robin O'Hanlon, Associate Librarian, User Services

Links to the publishers' editorial policies and their Conflict of Interest (COI) information. 

• American Association for Cancer Research (AACR)
  Editorial Policies includes Publishing Ethics; COI
  The AACR is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). Authors are expected to provide detailed information about all relevant financial interests, activities, relationships, and affiliations (other than those affiliations listed in the title page of the manuscript) including, but not limited to, employment, affiliation, funding and grants received or pending, consultancies, honoraria or payment, speakers' bureaus, stock ownership or options, expert testimony, royalties, donation of medical equipment, or patents planned, pending, or issued.

• American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
  Science Journals: editorial policies includes COI
  All Science Journals require manuscripts to be accompanied by clear disclosures from all authors of any past and present affiliations, funding sources, and financial or management relationships related to the reported research that might raise questions about possible sources of bias. Patents (whether applications or awards to the authors or home institutions) related to the work should also be declared. 

• American College of Physicians
  Information for Authors, includes what to expect after acceptance
  Author Forms and Conflict Disclosures
  Each author, including the corresponding author is required to complete his or her own International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) conflict-of-interest disclosure statement. At the time of manuscript acceptance, authors are asked to confirm and update, if necessary. At the time of publication, the completed disclosure statements becomes available for readers to view on Annals.org.

• American Medical Association (JAMA Network)
  Instructions for Authors, includes Editorial Policies for Authors
  Conflicts of Interest and Financial Disclosures
  Authors are expected to provide detailed information about all relevant financial interests, activities, relationships, and affiliations (other than those affiliations listed in the title page of the manuscript) including, but not limited to, employment, affiliation, funding and grants received or pending, consultancies, honoraria or payment, speakers' bureaus, stock ownership or options, expert testimony, royalties, donation of medical equipment, or patents planned, pending, or issued.

• American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)
  Author Center | Journal Policies includes Confidentiality,Conduct, Permissions, Originality, Conflict of Interest, Authorship Contributions, Corresponding Author, Open Access, Preprint Policy, and ORCID.  
  ASCO database (coi.asco.org) allows authors to keep their disclosures on file. To correct a disclosure for a past publication, contact report.error@asco.org. 
  Disclosure of Relationships with Companies. The policy was published in JCO, January 2017.
  2021 COI Disclosure Form [PDF]
  ASCO requires general or full disclosure as opposed to activity-specific disclosure. All relationships including research funding must be disclosed even if the funding is paid by the authors' institutions or organizations.

• American Society of Hematology (ASH)
  Structure and Governance - Conflict of Interest
  ASH has adopted eight principles that underscore its commitment to managing real/perceived conflicts of interest, as well as eight policies that lay out specific ways in which the Society safeguards the integrity of the programs and activities in which its membership is engaged. 

• BMJ
  Competing interest policy. Declaration of interests for all authors must be received before an article can be reviewed and accepted for publications. Three forms have been made available: Research, Editorials and Education (including clinical reviews, practice articles, minerva pictures, and endgames. Excluding state of the art reviews and therapeutics articles),  and all other article types (including blogs).

• eLife Sciences Publications
  Journal Policies. This publisher is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) and supports their principles for dealing with potential breaches of publication ethics which includes COI.

• Elsevier
  Publishing Ethics includes responsibilities for various roles in the scholarly communication process such as authors and declaration of competing interests (COI).
  Publisher provides a Factsheet: Conflict of Interest [PDF]

• Elsevier (Cell Press)
  Specific to Cell Press titles: Declaration of Interests Policy
  Cell Press Declaration of Interests Policy with form [PDF]

• Elsevier (Lancet) 
  All authors are required to provide a COI statement form.

• Ferrata Storti Foundation
  Our Policies, publisher of Haematologica, they follow the ICMJE Ethical considerations in the Conduct and Reporting of Research including COI.
  All participants in the peer-review and publication process must disclose all relationships that could be viewed as potential conflicts of interest. Disclosure of such relationships is also important in connection with editorials and review articles, because it can be more difficult to detect bias in these types of publications than in reports of original research. Editors may use information disclosed in conflict-of-interest and financial-interest statements as a basis for editorial decisions.

• Harborside Press
  Information for Authors, Journal of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (JNCCN)
  Provided through the JNCCN Editorial Manager System (Author Agreement)
  JNCCN requires that all authors disclose any relationships with organizations or industry that could be viewed as potential conflicts of interest, including personal, academic, or financial, in the Author Agreement. Authors whose manuscripts are accepted will be required to complete a formal financial disclosure form. Financial relationships include those they may have with companies whose products or competitors’ products are discussed in the submitted manuscript, in which they hold equity, or for which they have served as a paid consultant. 

• Impact Journals
  For Authors, publishes Oncotarget

  Oncotarget policy requires that authors and reviewers reveal to the Editors any relationships that they believe could be construed as resulting in an actual, potential, or perceived conflict of interest with regard to the manuscript submitted for review. All new and revised submissions must include such a statement. The authors are responsible for providing a detailed conflict of interest statement on the title page of their submission, even if there are no conflicts to disclose. If a potential conflict of interest is disclosed, notification concerning the relationship will be published along with the article.

• Massachusetts Medical Society (NEJM Group)
  Editorial Policies, includes Financial Associations / Conflicts of Interest
  Financial Associations of Authors (current conflict of interest policy; June 13, 2002)
  Full Disclosure and the Funding of Biomedical Research (April 24, 2008)
  Uniform Format for Disclosure of Competing Interests in ICJME Journals (November 5, 2009)

• National Academy of Sciences
  Conflict of Interest, PNAS Author Center
  PNAS Information for Authors, revised February 2019 [PDF]
  PNAS recognizes the multiplicity of financial and other conflicts confronting authors, referees, and editors. PNAS adopted a policy in 2005 that does not aim to eliminate conflict but to manage it. The most important element of our policy is that all authors, members, referees, and editors must disclose any association that poses or could be perceived as a financial or intellectual conflict of interest in connection with the manuscript. Divulging a potential conflict usually does not invalidate the research or the comments of a referee or editor; it simply provides the reader information necessary to independently assess the work.

• Oncology Nursing Society 
  Link to their publications.  This society follows the ICMJE recommendations regarding ethical publishing including conflict of interests.

• Oxford University Press
  Publisher provides an FAQ about COI

• Public Library of Science (PLOS)
  Competing Interests. This policy applies to all PLOS journals, unless otherwise noted.

• Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging
  The Journal of Nuclear Medicine Instructions for Authors
  The cover letter should disclose any conflict of interest—financial or otherwise— that may directly or indirectly influence the content of the manuscript submitted.

• Springer Nature
  Publishing ethics, includes information about disclosure of potential conflicts of interests.
  COI - all authors form
  COI - corresponding author form
  COI - ICMJE modified form
  The corresponding author will include a summary statement in the text of the manuscript in a separate section before the reference list, that reflects what is recorded in the potential conflict of interest disclosure form(s).

• Wiley
  Conflicts of Interest, Wiley's Best Practice Guidelines on Publishing Ethics, Editorial Standards and Processes.
  Editors, authors, and peer reviewers should disclose interests that might appear to affect their ability to present or review work objectively. These might include relevant financial interests (for example, patent ownership, stock ownership, consultancies, or speaker's fees), or personal, political, or religious interests.

• Wolters Kluwer
  ​Publishing Ethics includes Conflicts of Interest
  Policy requires that each author reveal any financial interests or connections, direct or indirect, or other situations that might raise the question of bias in the work reported or the conclusions, implications, or opinions stated - including pertinent commercial or other sources of funding for the individual author(s) or for the associated department(s) or organization(s), personal relationships, or direct academic competition.

Core Grant Publishers are bolded.