MSK Library Guides: MSK Advanced Practice Providers Resources: Research Support

Research & Author Tools

Covidence
A web-based systematic review tool designed to facilitate the process of screening, data extraction, and analysis of published literature. MSK users need to have an account and should register here
iThenticate
iThenticate is a tool for researchers and writers to check their original works for potential plagiarism. This resource will check against 93% of Top Cited Journal content and 70+ billion current and archived web pages. Check out our Support for Authors guide for more writing and publishing resources.
JANE: Journal/Author Name Estimator
A free web tool for finding the most appropriate journals for submitting a manuscript (primarily for papers covering biomedical and clinical research). Allows users to enter the title, abstract, or keywords of an unpublished paper into a text box and find journals that best match their query.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR measures research influence and impact factors at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing papers and citing journals.
Prospero
PROSPERO includes protocol details for systematic reviews relevant to health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome.

Systematic review protocols on PROSPERO can include any type of any study design. Reviews of reviews and reviews of methodological issues that contain at least one outcome of direct patient or clinical relevance are also accepted.
PubsHub
Contains details on biomedical journal impact factors, circulation numbers, acceptance rates, publication turnaround times, and links to author instructions for publishing. Authors can compare their manuscript with specific journal and congress/conference requirements.
Retraction Watch Database
Searchable online database that tracks retracted articles “as a window into the scientific process."
Ulrichsweb
Allows you to search more than 300,000 periodicals/serials of different types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.

Citation Analytics Databases

BIOSIS Citation Index
Database focused on life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. This resource includes content from not only journals but relevant meetings, patents, and books.
Essential Science Indicators
Allows users to conduct on-going, quantitative analyses of research performance and trends in science. Users can also rank top scientists, institutions, countries, and journals in 22 specific fields of research based on journal article publication counts and citation data.
H1 Connect
In July 2023 H1 Connect became the new name for Faculty Opinions reflecting its evolution as an expert-led knowledge sharing community for professionals in medicine and life sciences. The new strategic initiative, which includes the expansion of clinical trial and medical research evaluations by leading experts, will bridge the gap between research and clinical practice, delivering unique insights to healthcare practitioners worldwide.
Highly Cited Researchers
A searchable web-based product that collects the work of the world's most cited and influential researchers from a broad array of subject categories in life sciences, medicine, physical sciences, engineering and social sciences based on citation metrics.
Scopus
One of the largest abstract and citation databases containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Scope of subjects include: medicine, chemistry, physics, psychology, health sciences and more.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary resource covering open access materials, conference proceedings, and scholarly publications. Access is also available to the Science Citation Index, and social sciences, arts, and humanities fields.