MSK Library Guides: MSK Advanced Practice Providers Resources: Clinical Support

Evidence Based Support Tools

Cochrane Clinical Answers This link opens in a new window
Provides a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Essential Evidence Plus is an evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries. Evidence-based content includes decision support tools, diagnostic calculators, Cochrane Abstracts, POEMs, evidence-based guidelines, and more.
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide This link opens in a new window
Features up-to-date, quick-read entries of evidence-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases to help users make informed decisions in the clinical setting. Content includes diagnosis; drug interactions, dosing, pharmacokinetics, side effects; pathogens; management; and vaccines. Web and mobile versions are available.

Calculators

BMJ Best Practice: Calculators
This page contains links to external websites. Links are provided for your convenience, and do not imply endorsement or approval. We have no control over the contents or functionality of those website(s) and accept no responsibility for any loss or damages that may arise from your use of them. We are not responsible for any website outside our BMJ branded websites and mobile applications, and any such website use will be subject to relevant terms and conditions and privacy policies. Please refer to BMJ's Website Terms and Conditions for further information.
EBMCalc
EBMcalc is a unique computerized medical reference and tool set. EBMcalc encompasses a wide array of pertinent medical formulae, clinical criteria sets and decision tree analysis tools used everyday
MDCalc
The source for medical equations, algorithms, scores, and guidelines.
Merck Manual: Clinical Calculators
230 clinical calculators across all medical specialities

Expert Based Support Tools

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
Bringing together regularly updated research evidence with the knowledge of international experts, BMJ Best Practice is a clinical decision support tool that offers a step-by-step approach to help manage patient diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention.
ClinMicroNow This link opens in a new window
ClinMicroNow is a service from American Society for Microbiology Press, in partnership with Wiley, that offers its clinical microbiology publications online for quick and easy access. This database offers searches to find the complete range of pathogenic microbial organisms and related laboratory procedures, along with timely clinical microbiology content.

ASM's Manual of Clinical Microbiology (MCM), Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook (CMPH), and Cases in Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, have merged online to create ClinMicroNow.

The Department of Laboratory Medicine has provided financial support for this resource.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Provides expert-based answers to commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Designed to provide practical, concise information needed at the bedside.

Pharmacological Support Tools

About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products This link opens in a new window
This application is available for both iOS and Android devices and is managed by Integrative Medicine Service at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. This resource provides helpful information on many common herbs and dietary supplements and is continually updated.

ASHP Drug Shortages
ASHP’s Drug Shortages is the most widely recognized leading source of evidence-based drug shortage information for clinicians, consumers, and health policy leaders.

Antimicrobe This link opens in a new window
This resource is currently only available at on-site MSKCC locations, and not remotely.
An online reference database for infectious diseases and antimicrobial agents. Includes reviews and chapters from antimicrobial therapy and infectious diseases publications as well as focused MEDLINE search results.
Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care drug information resource that provides answers to medication questions. Content is updated "live" to include newly released drug products and developments.

This resource is being supported by MSKCC's Pharmacy department.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the approved drugs and dosage forms used at Memorial Sloan Kettering (Hospital Formulary). The Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee selects drugs for addition to the Hospital Formulary based on therapeutic efficacy, toxicity, and cost.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based source for drug dosage, drug interactions, and side effects information. Contains some patient education material as well. Note that Micromedex has ended support for Microsoft® Windows® XP and Internet Explorer® 7. Please use an updated browser or system to access this resource.

Includes Red Book online.
NCI Drug Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The NCI Drug Dictionary contains technical definitions and synonyms for drugs/agents used to treat patients with cancer or conditions related to cancer. Each drug entry includes links to check for clinical trials listed in NCI's List of Cancer Clinical Trials.

Diagnostic Support Tools

Orphanet This link opens in a new window
Assists in the diagnosis and overview of rare diseases. Provides users with expert summaries, links to reputable resources, and drug information for certain diseases. Orphanet was established in France in 1997 at the advent of the internet in order to gather scarce knowledge on rare diseases so as to improve the diagnosis, care and treatment of patients with rare diseases. This initiative became a European endeavour from 2000, supported by grants from the European Commission: Orphanet has gradually grown to a network of 37 countries, within Europe and across the globe.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
A visual diagnostic decision support system that includes medical images and illustrations. Organized by symptoms, each patient's findings can be entered to build a patient-specific differential diagnosis through thousands of searchable clinical terms and diagnostic relationships. Focus is dermatology for all age groups and skin types, ophthalmology, pulmonary infections, oral pathology, and public health concerns.