The physical space of the MSK Library is permanently closed to visitors as of Friday, May 17, 2024. Please visit this guide for more information.
The physical space of the MSK Library is permanently closed to visitors as of Friday, May 17, 2024. Please visit this guide for more information.
My NCBI is the compiled tools for registered users of the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) databases - of which PubMed is under. It provides customized preferences and services to many NCBI databases, such as automatic search alerts, custom filters, citation saving, and much more. It also allows you to keep track of your own publications through My Bibliography, which is tied directly to the NIH Public Access Policy compliance.
For detailed information about all the features of MyNCBI, see the NCBI Help Manual.
Take a tour of the My NCBI homepage. Learn about the different features such as Saved Searches, Collections, My Bibliography, Filters, and more!
NCBI databases search results can be narrowed down to smaller groups of data using filters. In My NCBI, you can select your preferred filters to be active every time you run a search. In PubMed there is a limit of 15 filters (including custom filters). All other NCBI databases have a limit of five filters (including custom filters).
Search results from many NCBI databases (including, but not limited to PubMed) can be saved in My NCBI using the Collections feature. There is no limit to the number of collections you may store in My NCBI. In addition, collections can be made public to share with others.
The Saved Searches feature facilitates saving search queries for NCBI databases, and provides automatic e-mail updates for saved searches, which can be set up on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis.
My Bibliography is a reference tool that helps you save your citations from PubMed or, if not found there, to manually upload a citations file or to enter citation information using My Bibliography templates. My Bibliography provides a centralized place where citations are easily accessed, exported as a file, and made public to share with others.
A feature of interest to eRA Commons users, Award view, allows them to see whether their publications comply with the NIH Public Access Policy, to start the compliance process for journal articles, and to associate their publications to awards. In addition, HRA grantees are able to associate their publications to their HRA awards in My Bibliography.