Skip to Main Content

Citation Management: Overview of Citation Management Software

Choosing a citation manager, tutorials, and more

ANNOUNCEMENTS

May 8, 2023
Mendeley Institutional Edition

As of Spring 2023, MSK now has an institutional subscription to Mendeley Reference Manager. Mendeley Reference Manager is a “web-based citation manager that helps you simplify the tasks of building and organizing your reference library, making notes and annotations across papers, collaborating with others, and inserting citations and bibliographies into the papers you’re writing.”

Benefits of Citation Managers

Import citations directly from databases. It's easy to build your reference collection with direct exportation from most literature databases (e.g. PubMed, Embase, etc.), as well as resources like Cochrane, Google Scholar, TRIP Database, and many more.

Organize, tag, and annotate citations. Keep track of all your references for manuscripts and research all in one place.

Attach PDFs (and other files) directly to the corresponding citation. Forget about trying to find that full-text on your computer, it's right there with the citation with all of your notes and highlights.

Create bibliographies and cite papers in hundreds/thousands of citation styles. No longer is it a chore to keep your citation formats correct and in the proper order.

Collaborate with colleagues. Whether it's weekly journal club or an international collaboration for a publication, easily share citations and full-text all in one place.

Citation Management Software

For Help, Contact

Profile Photo
Lindsay Boyce
she/her/hers
Contact:
Reference Desk: (212) 639-7439
Cell: (646) 643-4981
Website