Skip to Main Content

Citation Management: EndNote

Choosing a citation manager, tutorials, and more

Announcements

EndNote is a desktop-based citation manager that MSK provides access to through a licensing agreement. There is also a cloud-based component called EndNote Online that can be synced to your desktop program -- NOTE: EndNote Online is required for sharing libraries. Contact the Help Desk at 123-3337 or 646-227-3337 to have EndNote installed on your account. For MSK issued laptops you will need to open another request.

Announcement: EndNote 21 Available!

The latest update of EndNote Desktop, EndNote 21 will be available to MSK users on Monday, September 11th, 2023!! To install EndNote 21 on an MSK-issued laptop, please install from MSK Self-Service. Read our recent blog post to learn more about the changes and improvements made in this new version.

 

For more information from Clarivate:

June 9, 2022: EndNote Find Full Text

The MSK Library recently updated our subscription proxy platform to OpenAthens. With this change, EndNote users who wish to continue using the Find Full Text feature will need to make adjustments to their Preferences.

  1. Navigate to EndNote 20 Preferences (found under the Edit tab on PC and under the EndNote 20 tab on a Mac).
    (the Authenticate with URL box should be blank)
  2. Go to the Find Full Text preferences to add our Libkey link to the OpenURL Path - https://libkey.io/libraries/346/openurl
  3. Make sure that OpenURL is checked off above it.
  4. Apply changes
  5. Go the URLs & Links preferences and add our OpenAthens redirector URL https://go.openathens.net/redirector/mskcc.org?url= in the ISI Base URL box.  
  6. Lastly, go the OpenURL Arguments box and replace the WoS with endnote (see below)
  7. Apply changes and click OK or close out of Preferences.

Open URL Argumements Box:

?sid=ISI:endnote&aufirst=AUFIRST&aulast=AULAST&issn=ISSN&isbn=ISBN&atitle=ATITLE&title=TITLE&volume=VOLUME&issue=ISSUE&date=DATE&spage=SPAGE&epage=EPAGE

EndNote Retraction Alerts

EndNote has teamed up with Retraction Watch to get regular feeds of their database. With EndNote 20.2, retracted articles will be flagged in the EndNote library. Retraction Watch’s database includes nearly 30,000 retracted papers and conference abstracts dating back to the 1970s.

 

To activate retraction alerts, you will need to be signed in to your EndNote online account. Once signed in, you will get alerts with every library you open. Retraction Watch data is updated multiple times a week.


EndNote for iOS is now available for both iPhone and iPad!

EndNote for iOS enables you to easily view, edit, organize, and share your research material and PDFs on your iOS device. Syncing your EndNote library between your iOS device, desktop, and online account extends the power of EndNote for iOS and allows for seamless access to your reference library from multiple devices and platforms.

Library Training

Guides

EndNote Support

EndNote Video Tutorials

More Video Tutorials

For Help, Contact

Profile Photo
Lindsay Boyce
she/her/hers
Contact:
Reference Desk: (212) 639-7439
Cell: (646) 643-4981
Website