COVID-19

Government

• HealthData.gov: COVID-19 Datasets
  • Range of downloadable datasets from the United States.
• National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS): COVID-19 Pandemic Vulnerability Index (PVI)
  • County-level data allows you to see how the virus is spreading and which communities are most at risk.
• European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC): Situation updates on COVID-19
  • Includes weekly situation updates that explore Europe and the rest of the world, and datasets that can be downloaded.
• COVID-19 Health System Response Monitor (HSRM)
  • Partnership of the WHO Regional Office for Europe, the European Commission, and the European Observatory on Health Systems and Policies that offers a cross-country analysis of health system responses and key policy lessons from COVID-19, with a focus on European countries.

Other Groups and Projects

• Global.health
  • Funded by Google and the Rockefeller Foundation, this is an international cloud-based repository for anonymized individual case data, built to encompass dozens of variables for each individual, and with access open to anyone.
• Dimensions: COVID-19 Resources
  • An openly accessible application that contains publications, data sets, and clinical trials on COVID-19.
• Mathematica: COVID-19 Curated Data, Modeling, and Policy Resources
  • Curated list of publicly available data sources, analytics and modeling tools, and policy resources.
• PolicyMap: Special Edition: COVID-19
  • Offered free access to COVID-19 pandemic data at a community level within its Quick Maps product, as well as another map with mortality risk layers, until May 10, 2023.
• DataHub: Novel Coronavirus 2019
  • Data aggregated from a variety of public sources and available for download in CSV format.
• Primer AI: COVID-19 Primer
  • Using natural language processing to analyze and visualize trending articles, topics, and news.
• Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME): COVID-19 Projections
  • Group out of the University of Washington that compiles global health statistics to project future impacts, including deaths, hospital resource use, infections and testing, mask use, and social distancing.
• Information is Beautiful: COVID-19 Coronavirus Data Dashboard
  • Visualizes top outbreak countries, hotspots, infection trajectories, activities by risk, and many others.
• Surgo Ventures: Precision for COVID
  • COVID-19 tools include two on vaccines in the United States (one on allocation and the other coverage) and a COVID-19 Community Vulnerability Index (CCVI) for both the United States and Africa which identifies vulnerable communities to inform planning and response.
• CoronaCentral
  • Built by Jake Lever and funded by the Chan Zuckerberg Biohub and a NLM grant, this resource uses deep learning to provide a single portal for searching and visualizing published papers and preprints on SARS-CoV-2, MERS-CoV, and SARS-CoV.
• US Hospital Circuit Breaker Dashboard
  • Working prototype based on CDC, HHS, and Johns Hopkins University data that notes state and county hospital capacity with recent COVID-19 case trends to see if restrictions should be put in place.
• CoVariants
  • Built by Emma Hodcroft, this provides an overview of SARS-CoV-2 variants and their shared mutations, with visualizations by country and variant.
• COVID-19 Data Hub
  • Open-source daily time-series database of COVID-19 case data across countries, regions, and lower-level administrative divisions.

• Johns Hopkins University & Medicine: Coronavirus Resource Center
  • Provided a global map tracking COVID-19 cases, breakdowns at the US county level, visualizations of epidemiological trends, and a vaccine tracker for US states. The center ceased operations March 10, 2023.
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): COVID Data Tracker
  • Page updated Monday-Friday with maps and charts documenting vaccinations, cases and deaths, and demographic trends, among others.
• The New York Times: The Coronavirus Outbreak
  • Provides its COVID-19 coverage and live updates for free, including the following trackers: Coronavirus Vaccine Tracker, Coronavirus Drug and Treatment Tracker, Coronavirus Variants and Mutations, and How Full Are Hospital I.C.U.s Near You?.
• The Atlantic: The COVID Tracking Project
  • Published and interpreted public health data for 56 individual states and territories before ending data collection March 7, 2021. The project closed May 2021 and its archives were donated to the University of California San Francisco, in partnership with the California Digital Library.
• Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF): Coronavirus (COVID-19)
  • State-by-state news, tools, and trackers.
• McGill University: COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker
  • COVID-19 vaccine clinical trial data collated and curated from multiple sources. No longer updated as of December 2, 2022.
• Covid Act Now: U.S. COVID Tracker
  • Can toggle between metro, county or state data, with maps, visualizations, and metrics, and an API for current and historical COVID-19 data.
• BIO: COVID-19 Therapeutic Development Tracker
  • Exploration of the therapeutic development pipeline with granular data on inventor, mechanism, and strategy, updated weekly.
• Pandem-ic
  • Created by Philip Schellekens, this explores the impact of the pandemic on developing countries with two trackers built using the World Bank income classification.
• COVID-19 Web Archive
  • Collections of archived webpages that track how the COVID-19 pandemic impacted communities, businesses, health care, and other institutions.