Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Research Efforts and Funding
- National Library of Medicine (NLM): NCBI SARS-CoV-2 Resources
- Sequences, datasets, literature, and clinical resources.
- Nextstrain: SARS-CoV-2 resources
- Analysis of genomic data sequencing with public datasets mapped worldwide by location, and a tool to see where your own sequences fall within the tree.
- National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS): Disaster Research Response (DR2) Resources Portal
- The COVID-19 Collection of Research Tools provides access to COVID-19-related data collection tools, such as instruments and surveys, to coordinate research efforts and save researchers the time of developing something new.
- Clinical Architecture: COVID-19 Interoperability Alliance
- Clinical Architecture-hosted website that shares the efforts of a collaboration working to develop and share interoperable data resources related to the COVID-19 pandemic.
- COVID-19 Knowledge Accelerator (COKA)
- Tied to EBMonFHIR, the goal of this project is reducing the negative impact of COVID-19 by coordinating systematic reviews on the topic and having these systematic review teams train machines to ultimately speed up the process of evidence synthesis.
- NYU Langone Health: COVID-19 Neuro Databank-Biobank
- Known as the NeuroCOVID Project, this is a national resource documenting the neurological complications of COVID-19, funded by the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS).
- NYU Langone Health: Researching COVID to Enhance Recovery (RECOVER) Initiative
- Funded by a grant from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), this study will explore the post-infection effects of COVID-19 by enlisting 100 researchers at 35 institutions to enroll 40,000 adults and children.
- Johns Hopkins University: COVID-19 Funding Opportunities
- Regularly updated XLSX file of federal and private funding opportunities for COVID-19 research.
Data and Visualizations
Other Groups and Projects
- Academic Data Science Alliance (ADSA): COVID-19 Resources
- Living list of data and data science research and resources broken down by topic, including datasets and data collections, analytic tools, and data visualizations.
- Funded by Google and the Rockefeller Foundation, this is an international cloud-based repository for anonymized individual case data, built to encompass dozens of variables for each individual, and with access open to anyone.
- The Atlantic: The COVID Tracking Project
- Publishing and interpreting public health data for 56 individual states and territories, this project announced it will be finishing data collection March 7, 2021, with the project closing in May 2021. Its archives were donated to the University of California San Francisco, in partnership with the California Digital Library.
- Dimensions: COVID-19 Resources
- An openly accessible application that contains publications, data sets, and clinical trials on COVID-19.
- Mathematica: COVID-19 Curated Data, Modeling, and Policy Resources
- Curated list of publicly available data sources, analytics and modeling tools, and policy resources.
- PolicyMap: Special Edition: COVID-19
- Free access to COVID-19 pandemic data at a community level within its Quick Maps product, as well as another map with mortality risk layers.
- DataHub: Novel Coronavirus 2019
- Data aggregated from a variety of public sources and available for download in CSV format.
- Primer AI: COVID-19 Primer
- Using natural language processing to analyze and visualize trending articles, topics, and news.
- Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME): COVID-19 Projections
- Group out of the University of Washington that compiles global health statistics to project future impacts, including deaths, hospital resource use, infections and testing, mask use, and social distancing.
- Information is Beautiful: COVID-19 Coronavirus Data Dashboard
- Visualizes top outbreak countries, hotspots, infection trajectories, activities by risk, and many others.
- Surgo Ventures: Precision for COVID
- COVID-19 tools include two on vaccines in the United States (one on allocation and the other coverage) and a COVID-19 Community Vulnerability Index (CCVI) for both the United States and Africa which identifies vulnerable communities to inform planning and response.
- Built by Jake Lever, a postdoctoral researcher at Stanford University, and funded by the Chan Zuckerberg Biohub and a NLM grant, this resource uses deep learning to provide a single portal for searching and visualizing published papers and preprints on SARS-CoV-2, MERS-CoV, and SARS-CoV.